Early Aviation Heritage at Armour Heights

Armour Heights Aerodrome (from Walter Hurst)
Armour Heights Aerodrome

April is a significant month in Canada's aviation history. This year, the 98th anniversary of the founding of the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF), on 1 April 1924, was observed at the Canadian Forces College (CFC). An earlier event in April 1917 was also significant for Armour Heights, the location of the CFC campus.

Founded in 1943 as the RCAF War Staff College, the CFC site at Armour Heights has long been associated with military and civilian aviation activities. Adjacent to the present campus, an airfield was established in 1917 as a training base for the Royal Flying Corps (RFC). The landing strip was located near the present Highway 401 interchange at Avenue Road. In 1918, the School of Special Flying was established to train RFC instructors in newly-developed techniques of flying instruction. In 1919, the airfield was taken over by Bishop-Barker Aeroplanes Limited, a commercial venture of two distinguished combat pilots, William Avery Bishop and William George Barker, both recipients of the Victoria Cross.

Curtis JN-4 (from J.A. Des Roches)
Curtiss JN-4 Canuck

The CFC campus sits on the site of Colonel Frederick B. Robins' country estate, which he called Strathrobyn, with the Armour Heights Officers' Mess now occupying the magnificent home that he built in 1914. A military enthusiast, Col Robins, who was Honorary Colonel of the Toronto Scottish Regiment, was too old to take part in the Great War, but wanted to further the war effort at home. A realtor, he leased a parcel of 393 acres west of Strathrobyn, bounded on the west by Bathurst Street, on the south by Wilson Avenue, on the east by Sandringham Drive and Yonge Boulevard, and on the north by the Don River Valley. In April 1917, the RFC leased the property from Col Robins at a dollar a year, with the lease to expire at the end of the war or May 1919, whichever occurred first.

Work began on the airfield in May and was completed in September. Six hangars, in two rows of three, were arranged in an east-west orientation, about 900 meters west of Strathrobyn and 400 meters north of Wilson Avenue. Other buildings were located along what is now Sandringham Drive and backing onto the valley. Flying began in July 1917, before construction of the support facilities was fully completed.

Curtiss JN-4 (from J.A. Des Roches)
Curtiss JN-4 (Can)

RFC cadets selected for flying training at Armour Heights were chosen from thousands of Canadian applicants. After instruction in ground school, the fledgling pilots received a minimum of ten hours solo flying time on the Curtiss JN-4 Canuck, before moving on to advanced training at Camp Borden. In return for winter basing in Texas, the RFC also agreed to train 300 American pilots in Canada, many of them being trained at Armour Heights. The first fatality occurred in August 1917, when two aircraft being flown by American cadets on solos collided overhead and crashed to the ground.

Curtiss JN-4 (from J.A. Des Roches)
Curtiss JN-4 (Can)

Flying continued at Armour Heights through the winter, and by February 1918, nearly all the aircraft had been fitted with skis. Later in the spring, the School of Special Flying was formed to train RFC instructors in the latest instructional techniques. Foremost in the new techniques was "stunting" or "trick flying", which featured loops, rolls, spins and ground-skimming. During the first half of 1918, the flying training fatality rate was one per 1,800 flying hours, but by October, the rate had dropped to one per 6,000 flying hours, a direct outcome of the new techniques.

With the end of the Great War in November 1918, flying training operations wound down and the Royal Air Force, comprising the RFC and the Royal Naval Air Service, left Armour Heights in January 1919, and a civilian era began, with Bishop-Barker Aeroplanes Limited operating from the airfield. After the collapse of the company in the summer of 1921, the airfield fell into disuse.

Photos courtesy J.A. Des Roches and Walter Hurst.

Reference: Shields, William R. Canadian Forces Command and Staff College: A History 1797-1946, (Draft) Toronto: Canadian Forces College, 1987. [355.0070971 S44]

Date modified:

Les débuts du patrimoine aérospatial d’Armour Heights

Armour Heights Aerodrome (from Walter Hurst)
Aérodrome d’Armour Heights

Le mois d’avril est un mois d’une importance particulière pour l’histoire de l’aviation canadienne. Cette année marque le 98e anniversaire de la création de l’Aviation royale du Canada (ARC) le 1er avril 1924, un événemement qui a été été souligné au Collège des Forces canadiennes (CFC). L’histoire d’Armour Heights, où se situe actuellement le campus du CFC, se distingue par un autre fait historique.

Accueillant d’abord le Collège de guerre de l’état-major de l’ARC fondé en 1943, le site du CFC à Armour Heights a toujours été un haut lieu de l’aviation civile et militaire. Un terrain d’aviation, construit en 1917 aux fins d’entraînement du Royal Flying Corps (RFC), jouxtait l’emplacement actuel du campus. La piste d’atterrissage se trouvait autrefois tout près de l’échangeur situé à l’angle de la rue Avenue et de l’autoroute 401. En 1918, la School of Special Flying est mise sur pied pour former les instructeurs du RFC aux nouvelles techniques d’instruction récemment apparues. En 1919, le terrain d’aviation est pris en charge par la Bishop-Barker Aeroplanes Limited, une entreprise commerciale lancée par deux éminents pilotes de combat, William Avery Bishop et William George Barker, tous deux récipiendaires de la croix de Victoria.

Curtis JN-4 (from J.A. Des Roches)
Curtiss JN-4 Canuck

Le campus du CFC est situé sur les lieux de l’ancien domaine du colonel Frederick B. Robins, que celui-ci avait nommé Strathrobyn et dont la splendide demeure qu’il y fit construire en 1914 est aujourd’hui occupée par le Mess des officiers d’Armour Heights. Passionné par tout ce qui touchait au monde militaire, le colonel Robins, qui avait été nommé colonel honoraire du Toronto Scottish Regiment, était trop avancé en âge pour participer à la Grande Guerre mais désirait appuyer l’effort de guerre au pays. À titre de courtier en immeuble, il loue une parcelle de 393 acres à l’ouest de Strathrobyn, délimitée à l’ouest par la rue Bathurst, au sud par l’avenue Wilson, à l’est par la rue Sandringham et le boulevard Yonge et au nord, par la vallée de la rivière Don. En avril 1917, le RFC loue la propriété du colonel Robins au prix d’un dollar par année, le contrat de location devant prendre fin au terme de la guerre ou en mai 1919, selon la première éventualité.

Les travaux pour la construction du terrain d’aviation débutent en mai et se terminent en septembre. Six hangars sont disposés en deux rangées de trois, suivant une orientation est-ouest, environ 900 mètres à l’ouest de Strathrobyn et 400 mètres au nord de l’avenue Wilson. D’autres bâtiments sont construits le long de ce qui est aujourd’hui la rue Sandringham, faisant dos à la vallée. Les premiers vols sont effectués dès juillet 1917, avant que ne soit achevée la construction des installations de soutien.

Curtiss JN-4 (from J.A. Des Roches)
Curtiss JN-4 (Can)

Les cadets du RFC qui venaient suivre une formation au pilotage à Armour Heights étaient choisis parmi des milliers de candidats canadiens. Suite à leur formation au sol, les apprentis pilotes accomplissaient au moins dix heures de vol en solo à bord du Curtiss JN-4 Canuck, avant de suivre une formation plus poussée au camp Borden. En échange d’avoir pu s’entraîner au Texas en hiver, le RFC convient de former aussi 300 pilotes américains au Canada, dont plusieurs seront formés à Armour Heights. Le premier incident mortel survient en août 1917 lorsque deux avions pilotés en solo par des cadets américains entrent en collision et s’écrasent au sol.

Curtiss JN-4 (from J.A. Des Roches)
Curtiss JN-4 (Can)

Les vols se poursuivirent à Armour Heights pendant l’hiver et, en février 1918, presque tous les aéronefs sont munis de skis. Le printemps suivant, la School of Special Flying est mise sur pied pour former les instructeurs du RFC aux dernières techniques d’instruction. Au premier plan de ces nouvelles techniques figure le “vol d’acrobatie” ou la “voltige aérienne” caractérisée par les boucles, les tonneaux, les vrilles et le vol en rase-mottes. Au cours des six premiers mois de l’année 1918, le taux d’accidents mortels durant la formation au pilotage s’établit à un décès pour 1 800 heures de vol mais en octobre, le taux chute à un décès pour 6 000 heures de vol, comme conséquence directe des nouvelles techniques.

À la fin de la Grande Guerre en novembre 1918, les opérations de formation au pilotage diminuent progressivement et l’aviation royale, comprenant le RFC et le Royal Naval Air Service, quitte Armour Heights en janvier 1919. C’est le début de l’ère de l’aviation civile avec la Bishop-Barker Aeroplanes Limited, qui mène ses opérations à partir du terrain d’aviation. Lorsque la compagnie fait faillite à l’été 1921, le terrain d’aviation tombe en désuétude.

Photos : gracieuseté de J.A. Des Roches et Walter Hurst.

Référence : Shields, William R. Canadian Forces Command and Staff College: A History 1797-1946, (Ébauche) Toronto : Collège des Forces canadiennes, 1987. [355.0070971 S44]

Date de modification :