Dr Pierre C. Pahlavi

Department of Defence Studies

Dr Pierre C. Pahlavi Contact
Email
Tel: 416-482-6800 ext 6989
Fax: 416-482-6802
Address:  Canadian Forces College
215 Yonge Blvd
Toronto ON M5M 3H9

Areas of Interest

  • The Islamic Republic of Iran and the major axes of its foreign policy
  • Influence strategies, public diplomacy and strategic communications
  • Asymmetric strategies, grey zone approaches and hybrid strategies
  • Geopolitics, and the evolution of security and power as concepts

Educational and Professional Background

Dr Pierre Pahlavi is Full Professor, Chair of the Department of Security and International Affairs and Deputy Director in the Department of Defence Studies of the Canadian Forces College in Toronto. Along with multidisciplinary and international academic training, Dr Pahlavi has a diploma from the Université de Nice - Sophia Antipolis (MA), from the Université de Montréal (MSc), and from McGill University (PhD).

During his post-doctoral research, Dr Pahlavi taught in Quebec (UQAM, Université de Sherbrooke), where he was research associate at the Canada Research Chair in Foreign Policy and Defence, the Centre d’Études et de recherches internationales (CÉRIUM) and the Research Group on International Security. His research has been funded by the Department of National Defence through the Forum on Security and Defence, CÉRIUM, and the Fonds québécois de recherche sur la société et la culture. In addition to the support of the Defense Academic Research Program, his work in the field of institutional analysis has received financial support from the Defence Research and Development Canada.

Current Research and Projects

Dr Pahlavi’s recent publications discuss his main areas of expertise, which are influence strategies, Iran’s foreign policy. and hybrid strategies. He has authored several studies on the theme of public diplomacy and strategic communications (The Hague Journal of Diplomacy, The Canadian Foreign Policy Journal, Routledge, Presses Universitaires de Science Po Paris). His publications also address the issue of asymmetric warfare, gray zone strategies and hybrid threats (L’Harmattan, La Revue militaire canadienne, Le Journal de L’Armée du Canada, Journal of Strategic Studies, Éditions Bruylant, Terrorism and Political Violence, Politique étrangère, Guerres mondiales et conflits contemporains, NATO Association of Canada). Finally, he authored articles on the Islamic Republic of Iran’s regional and international strategy (Politique Internationale, Défense nationale, Small Arms & Insurgencies, World Scientific, Diplomatie, Israel Journal of Foreign Affairs, Politique étrangère).

Published in 2017, his latest book on the Iranian revolution received the prestigious Prix Diane Potier-Boès, awarded each year by l’Académie française for the best history book on the Middle East. He works occasionally as a media consultant on the Iranian issue and is an active member of the Centre for Institutional Analysis on the Armed Forces and the Chaire Raould-Dandurand en études stratégiques.

Date modified:

Dr Pierre C. Pahlavi

Département des Études de la défense

Dr Pierre PahlaviPour renseignements
Courriel
Tél. : 416-482-6800, poste 6989
Téléc. : 416-482-6802
Adresse : Collège des Forces canadiennes
215, boul. Yonge
Toronto (Ontario)  M5M 3H9

Intérêts

  • Les grands axes de la politique étrangère de la République islamique d’Iran
  • Les stratégies d’influence, la diplomatie publique et les communications stratégiques
  • Stratégies asymétriques, approche de zones grises, guerres hybrides et conflits du futur
  • La géopolitique et l'évolution des concepts de sécurité et de puissance

Éducation et antécédents professionnels

Professeur titulaire au Collège des Forces canadiennes de Toronto (Ontario), Pierre Pahlavi est actuellement directeur du Département de la sécurité et des affaires internationales et directeur adjoint du Département des études de la défense. Bénéficiant d’une formation universitaire multidisciplinaire et internationale, le docteur Pahlavi est diplômé de l’Université de Nice-Sophia Antipolis (maîtrise ès arts), de l’Université de Montréal (maîtrise ès sciences) et de l’Université McGill (doctorat).

Dans le cadre de ses études postdoctorales, le docteur Pahlavi a enseigné au Québec (UQAM, Université de Sherbrooke) où il était chercheur associé à la Chaire de recherche du Canada en politique étrangère et de défense canadiennes, au Centre d’Études et de recherches internationales (CÉRIUM) et au sein du Groupe d’études et de recherche sur la sécurité internationale. La recherche postdoctorale de Pierre Pahlavi a été subventionnée par le ministère de la Défense nationale (Forum sur la Sécurité et la Défense), le CÉRIUM, et le Fonds québécois de recherche sur la société et la culture. Outre le support du Defence Academic Research Program, son travail dans le domaine de l’analyse institutionnelle a reçu le soutien financier du Centre d’analyse et de recherche opérationnelle de la branche recherche et développement pour la défense Canada.

Travaux de recherche et projets en cours

Les publications récentes du docteur Pahlavi portent sur ses principaux domaines d’expertise qui sont les stratégies d’influence, la politique étrangère de l’Iran et la guerre irrégulière. Il est l’auteur de plusieurs études sur le thème de la diplomatie publique et des communications stratégiques (The Hague Journal of Diplomacy, The Canadian Foreign Policy Journal, Routledge, Presses Universitaires de Science Po Paris). Ses publications portent également sur la question des guerres asymétriques, des stratégies de zones grises et des défis hybrides (L’Harmattan, La Revue militaire canadienne, Le Journal de L’Armée du Canada, Journal of Strategic Studies, Éditions Bruylant, Terrorism and Political Violence, Politique étrangère, Guerres mondiales et conflits contemporains, NATO Association of Canada). Il est enfin l’auteur d’articles sur la stratégie régionale et internationale de la République islamique iranienne (Politique Internationale, Défense nationale, Small Arms & Insurgencies, World Scientific, Diplomatie, Israel Journal of Foreign Affairs, Politique étrangère).

Son dernier livre sur la révolution iranienne publié aux éditions Perrin en 2017 a reçu le prix Diane Potier-Boès, décerné chaque année par l’Académie française pour le meilleur livre sur le Moyen-Orient. Il travaille ponctuellement à titre de consultant-média sur la question iranienne et est un membre actif du Centre de recherche en analyse institutionnelle des forces armées et de l’Observatoire sur le Moyen-Orient et l’Afrique du Nord de la Chaire Raoul-Dandurand, UQAM (Québec).

Date de modification :