Dr Peter Foot

Dr Peter Foot

Department of Defence Studies

Contact
Email: P.Foot@gmail.com

Areas of Interest

  • Military Education
  • Alliance Systems
  • Civil-Military Relations

Educational and Professional Background

Dr Foot is Emeritus Professor of Defence Studies, Department of Defence Studies, at the Canadian Forces College (CFC). He was Director of Academics and Head of the Department during 2005-2006. Since then, he has just completed his four-year term as Academic Dean at the Geneva Centre for Security Policy (GCSP). He is now Faculty Associate at GCSP.

Between 1979 and 1984, he conducted research at the University of Edinburgh. In 1984, he chose to go into university teaching full-time. Between 1984 and 1996, while Senior Lecturer at the Britannia Royal Naval College, Dartmouth, and at the Royal Naval College, Greenwich, he specialised in teaching Defence Economics. In January 1997, Dr Foot assisted as Deputy Dean in the creation of King’s College London’s Defence Studies Department within the tri-Service UK Joint Command and Staff College. He served on secondment at the CFC for two years.

More generally, he has run undergraduate and postgraduate courses and has been an External Examiner for British and overseas Universities. Since 1998, he has been a founder Secretariat member of the Partnership for Peace Consortium of Defense Academies and Security Studies Institutes, and served as founder Editor and Chair of the Consortium’s Publication Board. He was educational advisor to the Baltic Defence College; the Peace Support Operations Training Centre, Sarajevo; the Leadership and Management in Defence programme for the Irish Defence Forces and the University of Ireland Maynooth; the International Staff Officers’ Course at the Armed Forces Academy of General Milan Rastislav Štefánik in Liptovský Mikuláš, Slovakia. He was awarded the Baltic Defence College Medal in 2004 for his contributions to scoping multinational military education and its management — he remains a senior mentor for the Higher Command Studies Course at that College. He also serves as Academic Advisor to Transparency International’s Defence and Security Programme.

Date modified:

Dr Peter Foot

Dr Peter Foot

Département des Études de la défense

Pour renseignements
Courriel : P.Foot@gmail.com

Intérêts

  • Éducation militaire
  • Systèmes de l’alliance
  • Relations civilo militaires

Études et antécédents professionnels

Peter Foot, Ph. D., est professeur émérite au Département des études de la défense du Collège des Forces canadiennes, à Toronto. Au cours de l’année 20052006, il a été directeur des études et chef du département. Son mandat de quatre ans, en qualité de directeur des études au Centre de politique de sécurité de Genève (CPSG), vient de prendre fin. Il est maintenant professeur agrégé au CPSG.

Entre 1979 et 1984, M. Foot a mené des recherches à l’Université d’Édimbourg. En 1984, il a pris la décision de se consacrer à l’enseignement universitaire à temps plein. De 1984 à 1996, alors qu’il était maître de conférences au Britannia Royal Naval College, à Dartmouth, ainsi qu’au Royal Naval College, à Greenwich, il s’est spécialisé dans l’enseignement de l’économie de la défense. En janvier 1997, M. Foot a participé à titre de doyen adjoint à la création du Département des études de la défense de Londres du King’s College, au sein du UK Joint Command and Staff College. Il sera détaché au CFC de 2005 à 2006.

Dans l’ensemble de sa carrière, M. Foot a offert des cours à tous les cycles universitaires, et il est intervenu à titre d’examinateur externe pour diverses universités, en GrandeBretagne et à l’étranger. Depuis 1998, M. Foot est membre fondateur du Secrétariat du Consortium of Defense Academies and Security Studies Institutes du Partenariat pour la paix (PPP). Il exerce également les fonctions d’éditeur et de président fondateur du comité de rédaction du Consortium. En outre, M. Foot a exercé les fonctions de conseiller en enseignement auprès des organismes et programmes suivants : le Collège de la défense baltique, le Peace Support Operations Training Centre (Sarajevo), le programme de leadership et de gestion de la défense pour les Forces de défense irlandaises, la University of Ireland à Maynooth, Le Cours international des officiers d’état-major à l’Académie des forces armées général Milan Rastislav Štefánik à Liptovský Mikuláš, en Slovaquie. En 2004, M. Foot a reçu une médaille du Collège de la défense baltique pour sa participation à la définition de la portée de l’éducation militaire multinationale et de sa gestion, et demeure un mentor principal dans le cadre du cours supérieur de commandement et d’état-major au Collège. Entre autres choses, il agit actuellement à titre de conseiller en enseignement auprès du Transparency International’s Defence and Security Programme.

Date de modification :