Dr Eric Ouellet

Department of Defence Studies

Dr Eric OuelletContact
E-mail
Tel: 416-482-6800 ext 6795
Fax: 416-482-6802
Address: Canadian Forces College
215 Yonge Blvd
Toronto ON M5M 3H9

Areas of Interest

  • Military and political sociology
  • Institutional analysis
  • Irregular warfare and counterinsurgency
  • Strategic military command and decision-making

Educational and Professional Background
Dr Ouellet holds a Bachelor’s degree and a Master’s degree in Political Science from Université Laval, Quebec City, and a Ph.D. in Sociology from York University, Toronto. He joined the Canadian Forces College in 2002, and taught in the fields of Leadership, Command, Defence Management and Organizational and Military Sociology. In 2005, he became Director of Academics. In 2008, Dr. Ouellet re-joined the Canadian Forces College after working as a Strategic Analyst at the Centre for Operational Research and Analysis, part of Defence Research and Development Canada.

Dr Ouellet published an international anthology in 2005 entitled New Directions in Military Sociology. He has published in journals like Low-Intensity Conflict and Law Enforcement, Canadian Army Journal, Small Wars and Insurgencies, and Guerres mondiales et conflits contemporains, as well as a number of government and NATO research reports, and book chapters. He is member of the international Board of the Inter-University Seminar on Armed Forces and Society, and is actively involved in research projects with NATO’s Research and Technology Organization and Defence Research and Development Canada.

Current Research and Projects
Dr Ouellet’s current research covers historical case studies on counterinsurgency and military institutional adaptation, the institutional challenges of meta-organizational collaboration in the context of domestic national crisis, the integration of psycho-social models and methods into NATO’s effect-based approach to operations, political-military strategic wargaming for irregular warfare, and sociological modeling of radicalization processes.

Eric Ouellet, PhD

Dr Eric Ouellet

Département des Études de la défense

Pour renseignements
Courriel
Tél. : 416-482-6800, poste 6795
Téléc. : 416-482-6802
Adresse : Collège des Forces canadiennes
215, boul. Yonge
Toronto (Ontario)  M5M 3H9

Intérêts

  • Sociologie du militaire et sociologie politique
  • Analyse institutionnelle
  • Guerre irrégulière et lutte anti-insurrectionnelle
  • Commandement militaire stratégique et prise de décision

Éducation et antécédents professionnels

Monsieur Ouellet détient un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en science politique de l’Université Laval, ville de Québec, et un doctorat en sociologie de l’Université York, à Toronto. Il s’est joint au Collège des Forces canadiennes en 2002, et a enseigné dans les domaines du leadership, commandement, gestion de la défense, et en sociologie du militaire et en sociologie politique. En 2005, il devenu Directeur des études académiques. En 2008, il est retourné au Collège des Forces canadiennes après avoir été analyste stratégique au Centre d’analyse et de recherche opérationnelle, partie de Recherche et Développement pour la Défense Canada (RDDC).

Monsieur Ouellet a publié une anthologie internationale en 2005, intitulée “New Directions in Military Sociology”. Il a publié dans des revues spécialisées comme Low Intensity Conflict and Law Enforcement, Canadian Army Journal, Small Wars and Insurgencies et Guerres mondiales et conflits contemporains, ainsi que plusieurs rapports de recherche gouvernementaux et de l’OTAN ainsi que des chapitres de livres. Il est membre du comité directeur international du Inter-University Seminar on Armed Forces and Society, et est activement impliqué dans des projets de recherche avec l’Organisation de recherche et technologie de l’OTAN.

Travaux de recherche et projets en cours

Les recherches actuelles de monsieur Ouellet couvrent des études de cas historiques sur la lutte anti-insurrectionnelle et l’adaptation de l’institution militaire, les défis institutionnels de la collaboration méta-organisationnelle dans le contexte de crise nationale interne, l’intégration des modèles et méthodes psycho-sociologiques dans les approches d’opérations basées sur les effets de l’OTAN, simulation politico-militaire stratégique de la guerre irrégulière, et modélisation sociologique des processus de radicalisation.

Date de modification :