Dr Craig Stone

Department of Defence Studies

Dr Craig Stone Contact
Email: Stone@cfc.dnd.ca
Address:  Canadian Forces College
215 Yonge Blvd
Toronto ON M5M 3H9

Areas of Interest

  • Defence Economics and the Canadian Defence Industrial Base
  • Defence Procurement and Budgeting
  • Strategic Management
  • Professional Military Education

Educational and Professional Background
Dr Craig Stone holds a BA in Economics from the University of Manitoba and an MA and PhD in War Studies from the Royal Military College of Canada.  Dr Stone joined the academic staff at Canadian Forces College (CFC) as an Assistant Professor in the summer of 2005 after 29 years in the Canadian Forces, the last five at CFC in the Strategic Studies Directorate. He teaches Strategic Resource Management and Formulating National Security Strategy on the National Security Programme, Defence Management on the Joint Command and Staff Programme. Dr Stone was a member of the Department of National Defence Defence Industrial Advisory Committee from 2009 until 2014, a member of the Interim Board of Directors for a new Defence Analysis Institute in 2014, and served as both the Director of Academics at the Canadian Forces College from December 2008 until June 2015 and the Head of the Department of Defence Studies and then Associate Dean of Arts of the Royal Military College of Canada during the same time period.

As a military officer in the Royal Canadian Artillery, Dr Stone served in a variety of regimental positions in the First and Third Regiments, Royal Canadian Horse Artillery in Lahr, Germany, and Shilo, Manitoba. Employment outside the Artillery included a variety of staff positions at the Brigade, Area and NDHQ levels. Dr Stone is a graduate of Canadian Land Forces Command and Staff Course 8801, and Canadian Forces Command and Staff Course 21.

Current Research and Projects
Dr Stone’s current research interests concern the economic impact of Defence expenditures, procurement and the Defence industrial base, Defence budgeting and the evolution of senior officer Professional Military Education within the Canadian Forces.

Date modified:

Dr Craig Stone

Département des Études de la défense

Dr Craig Stone Pour renseignements
Courriel : Stone@cfc.dnd.ca
Adresse : Collège des Forces canadiennes
215, boul. Yonge
Toronto (Ontario)  M5M 3H9

Intérêts

  • Économie de la défense et infrastructure industrielle de défense canadienne
  • Budgétisation de la défense et acquisition de matériel de défense
  • Gestion stratégique
  • Éducation militaire professionnelle

Éducation et antécédents professionnels
Monsieur Craig Stone obtient un baccalauréat en économie de l’Université du Manitoba ainsi qu’une maîtrise et un doctorat en études de guerre du Collège militaire royal du Canada.  Il se joint au corps professoral du Collège des Forces canadiennes (CFC) comme professeur adjoint à l’été 2005, après 29 années au service des Forces canadiennes, dont les cinq dernières au CFC au sein de la direction des études stratégiques. Il enseigne la gestion des ressources stratégiques et l’élaboration de la stratégie de sécurité nationale dans le cadre du Programme de sécurité nationale, la gestion de la défense dans le cadre du Programme de commandement et d’état-major interarmées. M. Stone a été membre du Comité consultatif de l’industrie de défense du ministère de la Défense nationale de 2009 à 2014 et membre du Conseil d’administration intérimaire du nouvel Institut d’analyse de la défense en 2014. Il a également agi à titre de directeur du programme d’études au Collège de Forces canadiennes de décembre 2008 à juin 2015 et de chef du Département des études de la défense puis de doyen associé des Arts du Collège militaire royal du Canada pendant la même période.

En qualité d’officier militaire de l’Artillerie royale canadienne, M. Stone a occupé divers postes régimentaires dans les 1er et 3e régiments, Royal Canadian Horse Artillery à Lahr, en Allemagne, et à Shilo, au Manitoba. Il a également occupé de nombreux postes d’état-major à l’extérieur de l’artillerie aux niveaux de la brigade, du secteur et du QGDN. M. Stone est diplômé du Cours de commandement et d’état-major 8801 de la Force terrestre du Canada et du Cours de commandement et d’état-major 21 des Forces canadiennes.

Travaux de recherche et projets en cours
Les intérêts de recherche de M. Stone portent sur l’incidence économique des dépenses liées à la défense, l’acquisition, l’infrastructure industrielle ainsi que le budget de la défense et l’évolution de l’éducation militaire professionnelle des officiers supérieurs dans les Forces canadiennes.

Date de modification :