Dr Paul T. Mitchell

Department of Defence Studies

Dr Paul T. MitchellContact
Tel: 416-482-6800 ext 6867
Fax: 416-482-6802
Address:  Canadian Forces College
215 Yonge Blvd
Toronto ON M5M 3H9

Areas of Interest

  • Naval Strategy
  • American Defence Policy 
  • Modern Military Operational Theories
  • Revolution in Military Affairs
  • Network-Centric Warfare

Educational and Professional Background

Dr Mitchell holds a BA (Hons) from Wilfred Laurier University, a MA in War Studies from King’s College London, and a PhD from Queen’s University at Kingston. Following the completion of his doctoral studies, he worked as a post-doctoral fellow at Dalhousie University in Halifax in the Centre for Foreign Policy Studies, where he assisted with the production of the Canadian Navy’s “Adjusting Course” strategy. He also worked as Directing Staff at the Pearson Peacekeeping Centre on their Maritime Peacekeeping course in 1996 and 1997. He has worked at the Canadian Forces College since 1998, first as the Deputy Director Academics, and later as its first Director of Academics (DAcad). As DAcad, Dr Mitchell oversaw the development of the Master of Defence Studies degree following accreditation of the Command and Staff Course by the Ontario Council of Graduate Studies in 2001. Between 2005 and 2007, Dr. Mitchell was an Associate Professor at Singapore’s S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies at Nanyang Technological University and also taught at the Singapore Armed Forces Training Institute’s Command and Staff College.

Dr Mitchell was awarded the Literary Award by the United States Naval Institute and the Surface Naval Association for his paper on Network-Centric Warfare and Small Navies in 2003, the first non-American and the first civilian to be so recognised. He recently was published in the International Institute for Strategic Studies’ prestigious Adelphi Paper series with his Network-Centric Warfare: Coalition Operations in the Age of US Military Primacy.

Current Research and Projects

Dr Mitchell is continuing his research on the impact of networks on military operations, particularly with regard to coalition operations and will publish an expanded study with Routledge in the summer of 2008. He is also working on how modern technology is confounding traditional analyses of military power and on a text on the use of film to teach concepts of strategic studies.

Date modified:

Dr Paul Mitchell

Département des Études de la défense

Dr Paul T. MitchellPour renseignements
Courriel
Tél. : 416-482-6800, poste 6867
Téléc. : 416-482-6802
Adresse : Collège des Forces canadiennes
215, boul. Yonge
Toronto (Ontario)  M5M 3H9

Intérêts

  • Stratégie navale
  • Politique américaine de la Défense 
  • Théories opérationnelles militaires modernes
  • Révolution dans les affaires militaires
  • La guerre réseaucentrique

Éducation et antécédents professionnels

Monsieur Mitchell est titulaire d’un baccalauréat spécialisé de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier, d’une maîtrise en études de guerre du King’s College de l’Université de Londres et d’un doctorat de l’Université Queen’s de Kingston.  Après avoir terminé ses études doctorales, il obtient une bourse de recherche postdoctorale au Centre for Foreign Policy Studies de l’Université Dalhousie à Halifax, où il participe à la production du document de vision stratégique de la marine canadienne intitulé Changement de cap.  En 1996 et 1997, il travaille au sein du personnel de direction du Centre Pearson pour le maintien de la paix dans le cadre du cours sur les aspects maritimes du maintien de la paix.  Il intègre le corps professoral du Collège des Forces canadiennes en 1998, d’abord comme directeur adjoint des programmes d’études, puis comme directeur des programmes d’études.  En qualité de directeur des programmes d’études, le professeur Mitchell a supervisé la mise sur pied du diplôme de maîtrise en études de défense suivant la reconnaissance officielle du Cours de commandement et d’état-major par le Conseil des études supérieures de l’Ontario, en 2001.

De 2005 à 2207, monsieur Mitchell est professeur agrégé à laS. Rajaratnam School of International Studies de la Nanyang Technological University à Singapore et enseigne également au collège de commandement et d’état-major du uSingapore Armed Forces Training Institute.

En 2003, on lui décerne le Literary Award de l’United States Naval Institute et de la Surface Naval Association pour son article intitulé Network Centric Warfare and Small Navies. Il devient le premier non-américain et le premier civil à recevoir une telle distinction.  Une de ses articles, Network-Centric Warfare: Coalition Operations in the Age of US Military Primacy, a récemment été publié dans la prestigieuse revue Adelphi Papers de l’International Institute for Strategic Studies.

Travaux de recherche et projets en cours

Monsieur Mitchell poursuit ses recherches concernant l’incidence des réseaux sur les opérations militaires, et plus particulièrement sur les opérations coalisées, et publiera sur le sujet une étude élargie aux éditions Routledge à l’été 2008.  Il étudie également la façon dont la technologie moderne déroute les analyses traditionnelles sur la puissance militaire et travaille à un document sur l’utilité des films pour enseigner les concepts des études stratégiques.

Date de modification :